How to Leave Family Sharing on iOS devices

Family sharing feature allows the participant members to use Apple services such as iCloud, iMessage, Game Center, iTunes, App Store purchases, Apple Books, an Apple Music Subscription, and FaceTime. This also makes it simple to share a photo album, calendar, reminder, and even help ilocate any member’s missing device.

Do you want to leave or remove a member from a family group? Here are the instructions to do it from your iOS(iPhone, iPad, iPod touch)devices.

How to leave your family group on your iOS device (iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch)

If you’re above 13 or any family member above the age of 13 can remove themselves from the family group.

Follow the steps:

  1. Open ‘Settings’ on your device.
  2. Tap on your name. It is on the top. If you’re iOS 10.2 or earlier version user then, tap on ‘iCloud.’
  3. Tap on ‘Family Sharing.’ iOS 10.2 or earlier version user, tap on ‘Family.’
  4. Now, tap on your name.
  5. And, tap ‘Leave Family.’ This removes you from the family.

How to Remove Someone from Family Sharing on an iOS device (iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch)

The family organizer can remove anyone above the age of 13 from the family group as needed. It is not possible to remove a child under 13 from the group; you can only transfer them to another group.

Follow the steps to remove:

  1. Open ‘Settings’ on your device.
  2. Tap on your name. It is on the top. If you’re iOS 10.2 or earlier version user then, tap on ‘iCloud.’
  3. Tap on ‘Family Sharing.’ iOS 10.2 or earlier version user, tap on ‘Family.’
  4. Tap on the name of the family member. You want to remove.
  5. Tap ‘Remove.’ The selected member will be removed.

How to Disband a Family group on iPhone

To remove all family members at once turns off Family Sharing. This will remove all the members but remember you are not able to remove a child of age below 13, so you need to transfer them to another family before disbanding yours. And also, if you’re a family organizer, then you need to disband family group before leaving.

  1. Open ‘Settings’ on your device.
  2. Tap on your name. It is on the top. If you’re iOS 10.2 or earlier version user then, tap on ‘iCloud.’
  3. Tap on ‘Family Sharing.’ iOS 10.2 or earlier version user, tap on ‘Family.’
  4. Tap on your name (organizer).
  5. Tap ‘Stop Family Sharing.’

Joey Williams is a self-professed security expert; he has been making the people aware of the security threats. His passion is to write about Cybersecurity, cryptography, malware, social engineering, internet and new media. He writes for Norton security products at norton.com/setup.

Leave a Reply